TEI Supports Enactment of a Harmonized Sales Tax in Ontario

On September 16, 2009, TEI submitted a letter to members of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario relating to the adoption of a harmonized sales tax in the Province of Ontario.

The comments were prepared under the auspices of TEI's Canadian Commodity Tax Committee and the Toronto Chapter's Ontario Tax Committee, whose chairs are Diana M. Spagnuolo of Imperial Oil Limited and Carol Nixon of Lanxess Inc., respectively. Materially participating in the preparation of the comments were Vincent Alicandri of Hydro One Networks, Inc; Carol Felepchuk of TD Bank Financial Group; Daniel Karvonen and Martina Krummen of FNC Lavalin Inc.; Phil W. Riley of ArcelorMittal Dofasco Inc.; Richard Taylor of Rogers Communications Inc.; Natalie St-Pierre of Bell Canada; and Michael J. Willis of LaFarge Canada Inc. Mary L. Fahey, TEI's General Counsel, served as legal staff liaison on this project.

Download the submission.