TEI Requests Administrative Tolerance for PST Audits

On March 4, 2013, TEI filed a letter urging the British Columbia Ministry of Finance to formally adopt a policy of administrative tolerance for Provincial Sales Tax (PST) audits during the first year of the "new" tax (the Province moved from the PST to a Harmonized Sales Tax in 2009, but voters approved a referendum in 2011 to return to the PST effective April 1, 2013).

The letter was prepared under the aegis of TEI's Canadian Commodity Tax Committee, whose chair is Robert J. Smith of the McKesson Canada. Contributing substantially to the development of TEI's comments were Dwaine Arnason of Shaw Communications Inc., Brian A. Moul of BC Hydro & Power Authority, and Michael J. Willis of Lafarge Canada Inc. Daniel B. De Jong of the Institute's legal staff coordinated the development of the Institute's comments.

Download the submission.