TEI Comments on Updated Canadian GST/HST Place of Supply Rules

On December 7, 2012, TEI submitted a letter to the Canada Revenue Agency commending CRA for its efforts to modernize the GST/HST place of supply rules, and suggesting a number of clarifications to the CRA's draft Technical Information Bulletin that would make the document as useful, clear, and comprehensive as possible.

The comments were prepared under the aegis of TEI's Canadian Commodity Tax Committee, whose chair is Robert J. Smith of the McKesson Canada. Contributing substantially to the development of TEI's comments were Hugh Magill of Husky Energy, Inc., Brian A. Moul of British Columbia Hydro & Power Authority, and Michael J. Willis of Lafarge Canada Inc. Daniel B. De Jong of the Institute's legal staff coordinated the development of the Institute's comments.

Download the submission.