TEI Comments on British Columbia Provincial Sales Tax Issues

On August 26, 2014, TEI submitted a letter to the British Columbia Ministry of Finance suggesting various amendments to the Provincial Sales Tax Act, the Motor Fuel Tax Act, and associated regulations. The proposed amendments would streamline administration for businesses and the Ministry and address a number of policy issues. The Institute's letter builds on earlier comments made to the Ministry in letters and meetings with Ministry officials.

The letter was prepared under the aegis of TEI's Canadian Commodity Tax Committee, whose chair is Richard Taylor of Rogers Communications Inc. Contributing substantially to the development of TEI's comments were David A. Card of Spectra Energy Corporation, Brian A. Moul of BC Hydro & Power Authority, and Michael J. Willis of Lafarge Canada Inc. Daniel B. De Jong of the Institute's legal staff coordinated the development of the Institute's comments.

Download the submission.