TEI Comments on British Columbia Provincial Sales Tax

On February 12, 2014, TEI filed a letter urging the British Columbia Ministry of Finance to address issues that would improve the administrability of the provincial sales tax (PST) system, including requesting additional guidance identifying products and services as nontaxable or exempt, and relief from the tax for export sales.

The letter was prepared under the aegis of TEI's Canadian Commodity Tax Committee, whose chair is Robert J. Smith of the McKesson Canada. Contributing substantially to the development of TEI's comments were Dwaine Arnason of Shaw Communications Inc., David A. Card of Spectra Energy Corporation, Brian A. Moul of BC Hydro & Power Authority, and Michael J. Willis of Lafarge Canada Inc. Daniel B. De Jong of the Institute's legal staff coordinated the development of the Institute's comments.

Download the submission.