

Tax Executives Institute - British Columbia Ministry of Finance **Liaison Meeting - Agenda**

1200 G Street, N.W., Suite 300 Washington, D.C. 20005-3814 Date and Time:

^{202.638.5601} Monday, June 23, 2025 – 10 am - 12:00 pm PST (Online)

AGENDA

1. Introductions

2. Part I: Opportunities to Improve BC's Competitiveness through Consumer **Taxation-Related Initiatives**

- PST Treatment of Related Party Transactions
- (2) Exports – Customers Shipping Property Using Their Own Conveyance
- PST Treatment of Legal Services for Multi-Jurisdictional Matters (3)
- (4) Motor Fuel Tax Treatment of Wholesale Propane Transactions
- (5) Provincial Sales Tax on Liquefied Petroleum Gas Export Facilities

3. Part II: Other Recommendations

- Application of PSTA Paragraph 205(c) 10% Penalty
- (7) Real Property Contractors
- (8)New Practice of Converting PST Bulletins to Web Content
- (9) Motor Fuel Tax Suspension/Cancellation Warning Notices

4. Part III: Update from Ministry on past discussions

- (10) Failure to Provide Information Penalty
- (11) Exemption for Donations of Tangible Personal Property, Software, **Taxable Services to Registered Charities**
- (12) BC PST Tax Interpretation Manual Rulings
- (13) Online Marketplace Services and Software Bulletins Update
- (14) First Nations Status Card Practice for Ongoing Sales

5. Part IV: Audit Discussion: TEI Items

- (15) Top Areas of Concerns for Ministry on PST Audits
- (16) Ministry Resourcing Challenges Update and Potential Redeployment of BC Carbon Tax Staff
- (17) Out of Province Audit Work

6. Part IV: Audit Discussion: Ministry General Audit Update

- 7. Other Business
- Closing remarks
- 9. Adjourn



Participants:

BC Ministry of Finance

Consumer Taxation Audit Branch, Revenue Division Jerry Ryan – Executive Director Dennis Tecson - Director

Consumer Taxation Programs Branch, Revenue Division Rick Sousa – Director, Policy, Rulings and Services Steve Coe – Manager, Policy, Rulings and Services Bob Scott – Manager, Policy, Rulings and Services

Tax Policy Branch, Policy and Legislation Division Brian Murata – Director, Consumption Tax Alex Nagelbach – Strategic Advisor Amanda Willick – Strategic Advisor

<u>Tax Executives Institute</u>

Martin Behagg, Rogers Communications
Alison Eakin, Amazon Canada
Gurmit Sangha, Best Buy Canada
David Card, TC Energy
Calvin Chiew, Pacific Canbriam Energy
Lesley Meredith, AltaGas
Nancy Sauve, AtkinsRéalis
Kevin Thom, ConocoPhillips Canada Resources Corp.
Kelly Madigan, TEI